As Orwellian as that statement is… Yes. But the thing is this:
All fandoms are shit, there’s no denying that. However, when people drive people to the point of suicidal thoughts, or doxx, or threaten people, or make actors uncomfortable, or have ironically pro-Nazi photo-shoots, or police art, or try to force their own headcanons onto people, or cry ‘queerbaiting’ ad nauseum just because an egg and a toaster didn’t screw or because the angel and the pie-lover aren’t having butt sex every second on screen…
Those are the fandoms that become a tad cancerous.
Because let’s face it: a fandom can produce some cringe, but that’s to be expected. Ruining people’s lives or making it so they can’t even enjoy the source media that a fandom surrounds is inexcusable.