shittyidea:

Hating on Canadian “milk in a bag”

Honestly I had bagged milk LONG before I knew that was a Canadian stereotype. Long before I really cared about Canada, even. I don’t get why it’s such a big deal when you can get it at gas stations.

And I didn’t see it once when I was in Canada. I’ve seen it in the US more times than would be worth counting. It’s so stupid.

libertarirynn:

amongststars:

seaofolives:

allthecanadianpolitics:

futureluddite:

automatomicatomaton:

fantastic-pizza:

Meanwhile in Canada …

Meanwhile in Canada, a promise-breaking neoliberal stooge who has been almost eager to cooperate with Trump takes advantage of a photo-op to keep riding that high of good publicity despite failing to take any positive action of note, and in fact failing so spectacularly in his promises to Canadian First Nations that some of them have banned him, personally, from their lands.

“Almost”

And let’s not forget the gift of $15 billion dollars in military equipment to a country that executes LGBT people.

Some sources if you need them:

DFO DISMISSED FROM NEGOTIATIONS BY HEREDITARY CHIEFS; PRIME MINISTER NO LONGER WELCOME IN TFN TERRITORY

On electoral reform, Trudeau didn’t just break a promise – he lied

Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop: 500 Days of Trudeau’s Broken Promises

Canadian government under fire over $12bn arms sale to Saudi Arabia

Canada admits that the weapons it sells to Saudi Arabia could be used in Yemen’s civil war.

And a few general sources of Trudeau’s failure on indigenous issues:

Trudeau Accused of Betraying First Nations After Permits Granted for Controversial Site C Dam

Trudeau Just Broke His Promise to Canada’s First Nations

‘Betrayal’: Trudeau Approves Kinder Morgan Pipeline Expansion

Indigenous leaders give Trudeau government failing grade on delivering promises

Trudeau Liberals take Human Rights Tribunal to court over First Nation children ruling

Trudeau Budget Continues Illegal Discrimination Against Indigenous Children: Cindy Blackstock

First Nations Groups Launching Massive Lawsuit After Trudeau’s LNG Decision

British Columbia grand chief calls Trudeau a ‘serial liar’ over broken promises

Video: Trudeau ‘very pleased’ Trump approved Keystone XL pipeline

it’s heartbreaking to reblog this but i refuse to be a farce so here it is

El oh el

Trudeau is absolute trash. Plus did y’all see Trump’s recent tweet where he called Trudeau his newfound friend? Y’all still stan him now?

You know I said “the wall” even though I was talking about inanimate objects because the only thing that comes to mind immediately when I think of either the Canadian apology stereotype or apologizing to inanimate objects is the kopke613 vine where he is ranting about how bad the Canadian apology stereotype is and then walks into a wall and apologizes to it so they’re all related and the same topic to me

theminingdwarf:

iicraft505:

tilthat:

TIL of Canada’s Apology Act, which states that a apology doesn’t constitute an admission of fault or liability

via http://ift.tt/2txvTX6

What the hell is an apology then

Haven’t you heard that stereotype where people in Canada say Sorry a lot? I think this has to do with that.

Yeah I have but I still think sorry in that context is still admitting guilt or liability in a way even if it’s an instinctual reaction

Like if you say sorry after walking into an inanimate object, it’s still admitting guilt because it’s instinctual from walking into, say, a person. The wall doesn’t give a shit but if you don’t apologize to a person after walking into them it comes across as rude

Like if someone says “sorry” when they don’t understand what someone said, a longer way of saying the same thing would be “sorry, I didn’t understand what you said”. Acknowledging that it’s inconvenient for the person is acknowledging guilt or liability

I mean it’s still an apology by nature of how people use the word sorry. I don’t think there’s a context where “sorry” isn’t admitting guilt for someone, even if it’s admitting guilt sarcastically.